The Final Thursday League Event of the Season took place South of central Johannesburg at Glenvista Country Club on Thursday the 12th of November.

After a hard fought 8 event Season on the Thursday League Tour it comes down to the Final 18 holes of the Season! Simon Meyer took a 4 point lead into Glenvista toping the Standings on 246 Individual Stableford points. October leader Ewald van Wyk started in 2nd place on 242 points, while Pieter Prinsloo was also firmly in the mix 6 points behind the leader on 240 points. Jason Ivins and Lyle Langley tie for 4th place on 238. Who would be crowd Thursday League Champion at the end of the Tournament?

Simon Meyer simply needed to focus on keeping ahead of his Featured Fourball playing partners, Ewald van Wyk, Pieter Prinsloo and Lyle Langley to secure the Thursday League Title. After navigating 17 holes of the Glenvista Parkland layout, he stood on the 18th Tee Box with permutations finalised. Simon had done enough to become the 2020 Thursday League Champion! Finishing on 279 Individual Stableford points 5 points ahead of now 2nd place Pieter Prinsloo on 271 points and 6 shots ahead of 3rd Ewald van Wyk!

Simon takes the Thursday League Title with 6 Top 10 Finishes and an average of 33,22 points with his best finishes coming at Houghton and Dainfern finishing 3rd and a Weekend Away at Nkonyeni Golf Estate!

Glenvista also hosted the Final of the Team Match Play Tournament. The year long Competition which featured 40 Teams, 8 Groups and 38 Matches, came downs to Game 39 the Final against Team Steady Eddie (Eddie Ivins and Jason Ivins) and Team Mighty Ducks (Danie Geldenhuys and Frikkie Barnard)

The Mighty Ducks got off to a good start going 1 up after 2 holes but felt the pressure as Eddie starting putting together a solid front night to claw his team back to 1up after nine holes. The Mighty Ducks managed to drag the match back to All Square on the Par 5 – 11th hole and for the next 3 holes remained at a Tie. Steady Eddie got the upper hand on the Par 3 – 15th to take the lead again but short lived as the 16th hole went to Ducks favour to move it back to All Square. Then came Jason Ivins time to shine carding to consecutive Birdies on the Par 5 – 17th and a putt from off the green on 18th to secure the Final 2up and become the 2020 Champions!

The Champions each earning 750 players rankings points and a Weekend stay at Nkonyeni Golf Estate.

2020 Team Match Play – Full Results

The day also belonged to Sarel Steyn completing a -6 (42 points) Victory over 47 other players to win his 2nd career League Title. Sarel’s round made up of 2 Birdies, 2 Pars, 6 Bogeys and 8 Double Bogeys. The highlight of Sarel’s rounds being making Birdie on the Par 4 – 1st and Par 4 – 3rd earning 5 points on each occasion. Sarel earns 500 player ranking points and his automatic entry into the 2020 Summer Cup at Glendower.



Not a Duckhook Member? – SIGN ME UP

Glenvista was be the 3rd and Final Qualifying rounds for the 3rd and Final Major of the Season, The Duckhook Summer Cup taking place once again at Glendower Golf Club on Sunday the 4th of December.

The OpenJanuary to March
The MastersJune to August
The Summer CupSeptember to November

Player Ranking points will be allocated to each finishing position and the player with the most points following all 18 Events will be crowned the Gauteng Player of the Season!


1Sarel Steyn304296500,00
2Ruben Swart74075300,00
3Russell Tandy153984200,00
4Basil Wright-43866112,50
5Rhyan Jeanson153786120,00
6Prinay Panday123684100,00
T7Frikkie Barnard7358085,00
T7Billy Hall17359085,00
T9Jaco De Kock13348754,38
T9Joey Du Preeze273410172,50
T11Eddie Ivins293310146,88
T11Ryan Estment-2337362,50
T13Dylan Bowles14329050,83
T13Matthew Widdel9328538,13
T13Henry Hall14329050,83
T16Hansie Hamman12318938,75
T16Cobus Engelbrecht20319729,06
T16Neels Du Toit19319638,75
T16Lyle Langley6318338,75
T16Carel V/D Meulen15319238,75
T16Nicki Vallentgoed243110138,75
T22Danie Geldenhuys0307828,10
T22Kevin Ho10308828,10
T22Simon Meyer8308628,10
T22Heinrich Botes13309221,08
T22Sean Salmon10308821,08
T27Jacques Greyvenstein6298523,67
T27Okkie Britz19299823,67
T27Pieter Prinsloo7298623,67
30Neville Kurz212810122,50
T31Derek Strauss232710415,94
T31Jason Ivins3278421,25
T31Landon Dade12279315,94
T31Ewald Van Wyk5278721,25
T35Dorian Fourie16269819,25
T35Gerhard Maritz3268314,44
T35Paul Ricketts14269619,25
T35Louis Rowan8269019,25
39Nerudo Mregi4258713,50
40Leon Oosthuizen232410717,50
T41Mark Borrajeiro8239316,75
T41Andre Kotze5239012,56
T43Rudi V/D Watt13229311,81
T43Hilton Button192210415,75
T45Mazz Lacueva142110114,75
T45Nick Quintal302111711,06
47Warren Daniel171910610,50
48Rudolf Broderick271412213,50

Account nameDuckhook Golf
Account number62572251511