Ashley Wagner takes Cape Town Open at Pearl Valley!

📁 Blog 🕔21.August 2019
Ashley Wagner takes Cape Town Open at Pearl Valley!

August featured the 2nd of three Majors in the 2019 Cape Town Duckhook Season, with the 2nd Major, The Open Championship hosted at the Magnificent Pearl Valley Golf Estate on the 18th of August!

The Top 20 Cape Town Duckhook Social League Golfers gathered at Pearl Valley Golfer Estate to take on the Major Challenge at one of South Africa’s most Prestigious Golf Estate. The Qualifying Cycle for the 2nd Major of the Season took place over the last 4 Rounds (May – Erinvale, June -Strand, July – Royal Cape, August – Stellenbosch)

Bertus Schaap topped the qualifying on 140 points at an average of 35 points to earn the right to tee off last in the Tournament which also featured 2018 Sunday League Champion, Roy Huddy. Players Champion Brent Nieuwoudt and 2018 Masters Champion Ashley Wagner along with the League Winners, Latiff Adam (Erinvale), Brent Nieuwoudt (Royal Cape), Latiff Adam (Strand) and Emile Borman (Stellenbosch) to go with the remain top Individual Stableford qualifiers to make up the Top 20 field.

The added challenge at the Majors is the Traditional Medal format, every shot counts until the ball finishes in the hole!

Ashley Wagner playing off his 20 Handicap got his Major off to a good start with a Par on the 3rd hole followed by Birdies on the Par 5 – 4th and Par 3 – 6th to jump to the top of the leaderboard on -4 to become the front runner. The Par 4 – 8th would see Ashley card his 7 to drop a shot to back to -3 where he would hold the club house lead.

Moving onto the Back Nine the Par 4 – 10th took 8 strokes to complete quickly erasing 2 shots from his lead to drop back to -1. Ashley manage to claim back one of the shots on the Par 5 – 12th with his second Par of the day to move to -2 but gave back the shot on the following Par 3 – 13th with a Double Bogey. The Par 4 – 16th would be his last Par of the day to return to -2 with 2 holes to play. With the nerves setting in with one hand on the Trophy Ashley need to simply make a Triple Bogey to secure Victory. A Double Bogey 6 on the Par 4 – 18th confirmed the Title!

Ashley Wagner now a two time Major Champion earning himself 850 Ranking points to jump up to 3rd position!

The 3rd and Final Major, The Masters will close off the 2019 Duckhook Season at West Lake Golf Club on Sunday the 8th of December where the Top 20 qualifiers will once again Tee it up.

Final Result

1 Ashley Wagner 20 91 -1 850
2 Graham Walker 14 87 +1 510
3 Roy Huddy 9 86 +5 340
4 Charl Wolmerans 14 92 +6 255
5 Evan Schiff 17 96 +7 204
T6 Justin Roper 11 91 +8 161,5
T6 Thiren Pillay 20 100 +8 161,5
8 Gavin Knoesen 12 93 +9 136
9 Brent Nieuwoudt 10 93 +11 127,5
10 Mario van Rooyen 9 93 +12 119
11 Emile Borman 13 98 +13 110,5
12 Jonathan Digby 15 102 +15 102
13 Andrew Heggie 7 95 +16 93,5
T14 Alan Ayers 16 109 +21 82,875
T14 Mark Tonkin 19 113 +21 82,875
16 Francois de Wit 18 112 +22 76,5
17 Latiff Adam 11 108 +23 72,25
18 Bertus Schaap 7 103 +24 68
19 Duwayne Cowney 17 120 +32 63,75
Major4 Month Cycle
Players ChampionshipJanuary to April
The OpenMay to August
The MastersSeptember to December
2017Alan AyersClovelly
2018Julian PittThe Metropolitan
2019Ashley WagnerPearl Valley

The Open Championship Field comprised of:

2018 Player of the SeasonJulian Pitt
2018 Sunday League ChampionRoy Huddy
2018 Majors ChampionsBrent NieuwoudtJulian PittAshley Wagner
4x Sunday League Winners (Jan to April)Latiff AdamBrent NieuwoudtLatiff AdamStellenbosch
Top 14 Sunday League
DateSunday 18th August
CoursePearl Valley
CostR680-00 including Cart

Current Field

1st TeePlayer 1Player 2Player 3Player 4
08:50Roy HuddyAshley WagnerBrent NieuwoudtLatiff Adam
09:00Gavin KnoesenJonathan DigbyThiren PillayFrancois de Wit
09:10Evan SchiffAndrew HeggieDuwayne CowneyMark Tonkin
09:20Graham WalkerJustin RoperMario v RooyenChris Maddison
09:30Alan AyersEmile BormanCharl WolmeransBertus Schaap

Open Championship Qualifying

Round 4 of 4 – Following AUGUST at Stellenbosch

QJulian Pitt382018 Player of the Season/2018 Open
QRoy Huddy992018 Sunday League
QAshley Wagner1232018 Masters
QBrent Nieuwoudt1302019 Players Champ  Winner: Royal Cape
QLatiff Adam133Winner: Erinvale Winner: Strand
QEmile Borman99Winner: Stellenbosch
7Bertus Schaap140 
8Charl Wolmerans133 
9Alan Ayers132 
10Ken Prinsloo131 
11Mario van Rooyen129 
12Justin Roper128 
13Graeme Woolley126 
14Graham Walker126 
15Johan Koegelenberg124 
16Mark Tonkin123 
17Duwayne Cowney121 
18Thomas Venter121 
19Wayne Windt119 
20Andrew Heggie119 
21Francois de Wit118 
22Thiren Pillay114 
23Brent Pienaar113 
24Jonathan Digby112 
25Gavin Knoesen110 
26Chris Maddison110 
27Evan Schiff110 
28Adrian Quinn108 
29Sam Sithole108 
30Darryll Wohlters107 
31Damian Daverveldt101 
32Abrie Swanepoel101 
33Jonathan Kay97 
34Pieter Hamman97 
35Sammy Kelbrick95 
36Ian Haricombe95 
37Dave Robinson94 
38Clint Smith93 
39Mario October93 
40Niel van Kraayenburg93 
41Wade October92 
42Johnny Finikaridis86 
43Bernhard Taljaard86 
44Ryan Farrell85 
45Andries de Klerk81 
46Kelly Dorrington78 
47Geo Venter71 
48Ryan McCarthy66 
49Andre de Wit65 
50Rakesh Rama63 
51Wayne Grove62 
52Deon Seboa62 
53Bernard Farmer61 
54Peter Olivier59 
55Tony Voges58 
56Chris Meer57 
57Mark Schoombie55 
58Marius Visser53 
59Eugene Pretorius48 
60Andrew Parker47 
61Chris Pick44 
62Brent Adams39 
63Hein van der Merwe37 
64Mario Lucueva35 
65Andre Bezuidenhout34 
66Deon Seboa34 
67Dirk Bester33 
68Lucian Rolleston31 
69Wessel Linstrom30 
70Martin Schouten30 
71Michael van Rensburg29 
72Ashlin Freddy29 
73Roy Harris29 
74Gust Greyvenstein28 
75Peter Ambrose27 
76David Bulmer27 
77Smith Steenkamp25 
78Karam Singh25 
79Ryan Ambrose25 
80Steve Davie24 
81Willem Prinsloo23 
82Quenton Graaff21 
83Lorna Mulder20 
84Nick Schutte19 
85Stefan de Clerk19 
86Steve Mohacsy17 
87Garry van As16 
88Dougie Henderson11 
Share this article with friends